Voted for by the fans at the end of each season, these are the winners of the Player Of The Year award.

First voted for in 1977 (and won by Tony Woodcock), two players have won it twice (Andy Reid and Kenny Burns) and two players have won it three times (Nigel Clough and Stuart Pearce).

One notable thing about Andy Reid's two wins are that they're ten years apart!

And, of course, there was Joe Lolley's tweet after winning the 2019 award. He said:
'Thank you to all those who voted and also for your support this season, means a lot. Would also like to sincerely say thank you to absolutely none of my team mates, as this is an individual award, losers'.

Season Player Notes
1976-77Tony Woodcock
1977-78Kenny Burns
1978-79Garry Birtles
1979-80Larry Lloyd
1980-81Kenny Burns (2)Kenny Burns' second win
1981-82Peter Shilton
1982-83Steve Hodge
1983-84Chris Fairclough
1984-85Jim McInally
1985-86Nigel Clough
1986-87Des Walker
1987-88Nigel Clough (2)Nigel Clough's second win
1988-89Stuart Pearce
1989-90Des Walker (2)Des Walker's second win
1990-91Stuart Pearce (2)Stuart Pearce's second win
1991-92Des Walker (3)Des Walker's third win
1992-93Steve Sutton
1993-94David Phillips
1994-95Steve Stone
1995-96Stuart Pearce (3)Stuart Pearce's third win
1996-97Colin Cooper
1997-98Pierre van Hooijdonk
1998-99Alan Rogers
1999-00Dave Beasant
2000-01Chris Bart-Williams
2001-02Gareth Williams
2002-03David Johnson
2003-04Andy Reid
2004-05Paul Gerrard
2005-06Ian Breckin
2006-07Grant Holt
2007-08Julian Bennett
2008-09Chris Cohen
2009-10Lee Camp
2010-11Luke Chambers
2011-12Garath McCleary
2012-13Chris Cohen
2013-14Andy Reid (2)Andy Reid's second win
2014-15Michail Antonio
2015-16Dorus de Vries
2016-17Eric Lichaj
2017-18Ben Osborn
2018-19Joe Lolley
2019-20Matty Cash
2020-21Joe Worrall
2021-22Scott McKenna