Logo
Logo

SEASON: 1891-92


Prev Season: 1890-91
Next Season: 1892-93
DIVISION:
Football Alliance (Tier 2)

MANAGER(s):
Harry Radford

FA Cup:
Semi Final (West Bromwich Albion (Baseball Ground) 2-6)

League Cup:
-


Top Goalscorer:
Alex Higgins (6 goals)


ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
6

Competitive Goals:
8

Goals per game:
1.3



LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
22

League Points:
33 out of 44 (2 points per win)

Points Percentage:
75.0%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored2 times3 times
Conceded2 times1 time
Won By2 times1 time
Lost By1 time

ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
0

Lowest League Attendance:
0

Average League Attendance:
0

Highest Cup Attendance:
14,500

Lowest Cup Attendance:
14,500


MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
3

Red cards:
0

Yellow cards:
0

Penalties scored:
0

Penalties conceded:
0

Penalties missed:
0

Penalties saved:
0



END OF SEASON TABLE

FOOTBALL ALLIANCEHomeAwayResults
Pos Club P W D L F A W D L F A W D L F AGA* Pts Result Home Away
1Nottingham Forest22145359222.68233Elected to the First Division
2Newton Heath22127369332.09131Elected to the First Division--
3Small Heath22125553361.47229Elected to the Second Division--
4The Wednesday22124665351.85728Elected to the First Division--
5Burton Swifts22122854521.03826Elected to the Second Division--
6Grimsby Town22661040391.02618Elected to the Second Division--
7Crewe Alexandra2274114449.89818Elected to the Second Division--
8Ardwick2266103951.76518Elected to the Second Division--
9Bootle2282124264.65618Elected to the Second Division--
10Lincoln City2265113765.56917Elected to the Second Division--
11Walsall Town Swifts2263133359.55915Elected to the Second Division--
12Birmingham St George's2253143464.53111Disbanded at end of season--
*GA = Goal Average
Click here for all tables for 1891-92...


GAMES

Football Alliance
DateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttNotes
Thu Sep 03, 1891Burton SwiftsH7-0Win3,000Pike (?, ?), Higgins (?, ?, ?), Shaw (?), Smith (?)
Sat Sep 05, 1891BootleA4-1Win4,000Mason (?), Higgins (?, ?), Graham (? OG)
Sat Sep 12, 1891Walsall Town SwiftsH5-1Win3,000Higgins (?, ?), McPherson (?), Smith (?), Hamilton (?)
Thu Sep 24, 1891Birmingham St George'sH3-0Win1,500McPherson (?), Higgins (?), Russell (?)
Thu Oct 08, 1891Small HeathH2-0Win2,000Smith (?), Higgins (?)
Sat Oct 17, 1891Crewe AlexandraH5-0Win3,000Shaw (?), Pike (?, ?), Higgins (?, ?)
Sat Oct 31, 1891Birmingham St George'sA2-1Win-Higgins (?, ?)
Sat Nov 07, 1891The WednesdayH1-1Draw3,000Higgins (?)
Sat Nov 14, 1891ArdwickA3-1Win11,000Pike (?, ?), Higgins (?)
Thu Nov 19, 1891ArdwickH4-0Win2,000Russell (? pen, ?), Smith (?), Higgins (?)
Sat Nov 21, 1891Grimsby TownH3-3Draw5,000Higgins (?, ?, ?)
Sat Nov 28, 1891The WednesdayA1-3Loss12,000Pike (?)
Sat Dec 12, 1891BootleH5-1Win-Russell (?), Lindley (?), Smith (?), McPherson (?), Mason (?)
Fri Jan 01, 1892Newton HeathA1-1Draw16,000Higgins (?)
Sat Jan 09, 1892Burton SwiftsA3-1Win500Pike (?), Mason (?, ?)
Sat Feb 06, 1892Lincoln CityH0-0Draw3,000
Sat Feb 20, 1892Lincoln CityA4-1Win3,500Higgins (?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Mar 19, 1892Newton HeathH3-0Win8,000Higgins (?), Mason (?), McPherson (?)
Sat Apr 02, 1892Walsall Town SwiftsA0-3Loss4,000
Sat Apr 16, 1892Small HeathA2-1Win3,500Oscroft (?), Mason (?)
Sat Apr 23, 1892Crewe AlexandraA0-2Loss3,000
Thu Apr 28, 1892Grimsby TownA1-1Draw1,000Higgins (?)


FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttNotes
Sat Jan 16, 1892Newcastle East End1H2-1Win-Higgins (?, ?)
Sat Jan 30, 1892Sunderland Albion2A1-0Win9,000Higgins (?)
Sat Feb 13, 1892Preston North EndQuarterH2-0Win14,500Smith (?), Higgins (?)
Sat Feb 27, 1892West Bromwich AlbionSemiN1-1Draw21,076Lindley (?)
Sat Mar 05, 1892West Bromwich AlbionSemiY1N0-0Draw15,930
Wed Mar 09, 1892West Bromwich AlbionSemiY2N2-6Loss8,024Higgins (?, ?)


Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttNotes
Wed Sep 09, 1891MansfieldEnglandA4-0Win-Higgins (?, ?), McPherson (?, ?)
Sat Sep 19, 1891Sunderland AlbionEnglandA1-0Win6,000G King (? OG)
Mon Sep 21, 1891EvertonEnglandA0-2Loss1,000
Fri Sep 25, 1891Queen's ParkScotlandA3-1Win4,000Higgins (?), Shaw (?), ? (?)
Thu Oct 01, 1891CanadiansEnglandH5-0Win2,000Hamilton (?), Higgins (?, ?), Pike (5), Oscroft (8)
Sat Oct 03, 1891NottsEnglandH3-1Win1,000Shaw (?), Pike (?), Higgins (?)
Sat Oct 10, 1891Sunderland AlbionEnglandH5-3Win500Higgins (?, ?, ?), Mason (?), Shaw (?)
Wed Oct 14, 1891Greenhalgh'sEnglandA6-0Win-? (?, ?, ?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Oct 24, 1891Kettering TownEnglandA5-1Win2,000Smith (?), Higgins (?, ?), Pike (?), ? (?)
Mon Oct 26, 1891StokeEnglandA3-0Win-? (?, ?, ?)
Thu Nov 12, 1891Bolton WanderersEnglandH5-0Win4,000Shaw (?), Smith (?), Pike (?, ?), Higgins (?)
Thu Dec 03, 1891StokeEnglandH2-0Win-Pike (?), Russell (? pen)
Sat Dec 26, 1891NottsEnglandA1-0Win15,000Shaw (?)
Mon Dec 28, 1891Derby CountyEnglandA0-3Loss6,000
Sat Jan 02, 1892DarwenEnglandA2-2Draw1,000Scott (?), Shaw (?)
Sat Jan 23, 1892Aston VillaEnglandA2-3Loss-? (?), Smith (?)
Tue Mar 01, 1892Rotherham TownEnglandA2-2Draw-Jardine (?, ?)
Sat Mar 12, 1892Wolverhampton WanderersEnglandA0-5Loss2,000
Thu Mar 24, 1892EvertonEnglandH1-2Loss1,500Shaw (?)
Sat Mar 26, 1892DarwenEnglandH3-0Win2,000Mason (?), Pike (?), Oscroft (?)
Mon Apr 04, 1892CelticScotlandA1-4Loss10,000Smith (?)
Sat Apr 09, 1892Grimsby TownEnglandA3-2Win5,000Oscroft (?), Shaw (?), Russell (?)
Fri Apr 15, 1892Bolton WanderersEnglandA0-1Loss7,000


Testimonial
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttNotes
Sat Dec 19, 1891EvertonEnglandA0-0Draw8,000



SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
GKBill Brown6321
GKGeorge Toone
GKJoe Thornhill
GKThomas Bywater
DAdam Scott431
DArchibald Ritchie6321
DErnest Jardine
DMartin Earp
MAlbert Smith6321
MDavid Russell6321
MFred Thompson
MJ Bullock
MThomas Hamilton211
MTommy Jeacock
MWilliamson (1892)
FAlex Higgins63216
FArthur Shaw6321
FFrank Burton
FHorace Pike6321
FJohn McPherson6321
FPercy Oscroft
FTinsley Lindley63211
FWilliam Mason
FWilliam 'Tich' Smith63211
AH Smith
D Walters
F Mason
Kearsley
Mills
Bryant
H Browne


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
GoalsPlayerGames
6Alex Higgins6
1Tinsley Lindley6
1William 'Tich' Smith6



LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season