Logo
Logo

SEASON: 1890-91


Prev Season: 1889-90
This Season: 1890-91
Next Season: 1891-92
DIVISION:
Football Alliance (Tier 2)

MANAGER(s):
Harry Radford

FA Cup:
3rd Round (Sunderland (A) 0-4)

League Cup:
-


Top Goalscorer:
Alex Higgins (11 goals)


ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
5

Competitive Goals:
23

Goals per game:
4.6



LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
22

League Points:
25 out of 44 (2 points per win)

Points Percentage:
56.8%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored1 time1 time2 times
Conceded1 time1 time1 time
Won By2 times
Lost By1 time

ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
0

Lowest League Attendance:
0

Average League Attendance:
0

Highest Cup Attendance:
8,000

Lowest Cup Attendance:
8,000


MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
2

Red cards:
0

Yellow cards:
0

Penalties scored:
0

Penalties conceded:
0

Penalties missed:
0

Penalties saved:
0


END OF SEASON TABLE



Click here for all tables for 1890-91


GAMES

Football Alliance
DateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Sep 06, 1890BootleA5-1Win-Rorke (?), Pike (?), Higgins (?, ?), ? (?)
Sat Sep 13, 1890DarwenH5-2Win3,000Higgins (?), Smith (?, ?), McCallum (?), Shaw (?)
Sat Sep 20, 1890Newton HeathA1-1Draw4,000Shaw (?)
Sat Sep 27, 1890Crewe AlexandraH5-2Win-Higgins (?, ?), Pike (?), Smith (?), McCallum (?)
Sat Oct 11, 1890Sunderland AlbionA0-0Draw-
Sat Oct 18, 1890BootleH7-0Win3,000Higgins (?), Pike (?), Smith (?), May (?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Nov 01, 1890The WednesdayA2-0Win10,000Higgins (?, ?)
Sat Nov 08, 1890Birmingham St George'sH4-0Win4,000Siddons (? OG), Higgins (?, ?), Pike (?)
Sat Nov 22, 1890Newton HeathH8-2Win2,000Shaw (?, ?, ?), Pike (?, ?, ?), Higgins (?), McCallum (?)
Sat Dec 13, 1890DarwenA4-4Draw4,000Higgins (?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Dec 27, 1890Grimsby TownH1-1Draw3,000Higgins (?)
Sat Jan 24, 1891Sunderland AlbionH1-1Draw5,000McCallum (?)
Mon Feb 02, 1891Birmingham St George'sA3-6Loss2,000Russell (?), May (?), Rowan (?)
Sat Feb 21, 1891Crewe AlexandraA7-0Win-Higgins (?, ?, ?, ?), McCallum (?, ?), May (?)
Thu Feb 26, 1891Small HeathH4-5Loss2,500Pike (?, ?, ?), Duncan (?)
Sat Feb 28, 1891Small HeathA2-4Loss5,000Higgins (?), McCallum (?)
Sat Mar 14, 1891Walsall Town SwiftsH2-0Win3,000? (? OG), Higgins (?)
Sat Mar 21, 1891The WednesdayH0-0Draw-
Sat Apr 04, 1891Walsall Town SwiftsA2-3Loss3,000McCallum (?), Pike (?)
Thu Apr 09, 1891Grimsby TownA0-3Loss4,000


FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Jan 17, 1891Clapton1A14-0Win1,500McCallum (?, ?), Smith (?, ?), Higgins (?, ?, ?, ?, ?), Lindley (?, ?, ?, ?), Shaw (?)
Sat Jan 31, 1891Sunderland Albion2A1-1Draw12,000Smith (?)
Sat Feb 07, 1891Sunderland Albion2Y1H3-3Draw8,000Higgins (?, ?, ?)
Wed Feb 11, 1891Sunderland Albion2Y2N5-0Win6,000Higgins (?, ?, ?), Lindley (?), Shaw (?)
Sat Feb 14, 1891SunderlandQuarterA0-4Loss15,000


Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Mon Sep 01, 1890Wolverhampton WanderersEnglandA0-1Loss8,000
Wed Sep 03, 1890Notts OlympicEnglandH4-0Win-? (?, ?, ?, ?)
Mon Sep 15, 1890Heart Of MidlothianScotlandA0-1Loss-
Mon Sep 29, 1890Sheffield UnitedEnglandA2-1Win-? (?, ?)
Thu Oct 02, 1890Queen's ParkScotlandH4-2Win3,500Smith (?, ?), Higgins (?), Pike (?)
Fri Oct 03, 1890StokeEnglandH2-2Draw3,000Lindley (?), Pike (?)
Thu Oct 23, 1890Aston VillaEnglandH3-0Win3,500? (?, ?, ?)
Sat Oct 25, 1890ClaptonEnglandA4-0Win-Pike (?), Higgins (?), May (?), Russell (10)
Thu Nov 13, 1890Wolverhampton WanderersEnglandH5-0Win-? (?, ?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Nov 15, 1890West Bromwich AlbionEnglandA2-2Draw2,000Higgins (?), ? (?)
Thu Nov 27, 1890Bolton WanderersEnglandH7-1Win-Higgins (?, ?, ?), Pike (?), May (?, ?), Smith (?)
Sat Nov 29, 1890StokeEnglandA1-2Loss3,000? (?)
Sat Dec 06, 1890ClydeScotlandA5-2Win2,000McCallum (?), Smith (?, ?), Russell (?), ? (?)
Thu Dec 18, 1890BurnleyEnglandH3-4Loss1,500? (?, ?, ?)
Fri Dec 26, 1890NottsEnglandA0-0Draw20,000
Thu Jan 01, 1891Bolton WanderersEnglandA0-3Loss6,000
Sat Jan 03, 1891Heart Of MidlothianScotlandH8-2Win2,000Smith (?, ?, ?), Russell (?), Rowan (?), Shaw (?), Higgins (?, ?)
Sat Jan 10, 1891Glasgow RangersScotlandA2-1Win1,500Smith (?), Higgins (?)
Mon Mar 02, 1891Sheffield UnitedEnglandA4-1Win3,000Higgins (?, ?, ?), Rowan (?)
Thu Mar 12, 1891West Bromwich AlbionEnglandH2-3Loss3,000Higgins (?), Pike (?)
Mon Mar 16, 1891Aston VillaEnglandA2-3Loss-? (?, ?)
Fri Mar 27, 1891Middlesbrough IronopolisEnglandA2-2Draw2,000Russell (?), ? (?)
Sat Mar 28, 1891Newcastle East EndEnglandA2-1Win3,000? (?, ?)
Mon Mar 30, 1891ChathamEnglandA2-0Win4,000? (?, ?)
Tue Mar 31, 1891Royal ArsenalEnglandA5-0Win7,000McCallum (?, ?), May (?), Pike (?), Smith (?)
Thu Apr 02, 1891Blackburn RoversEnglandH4-0Win3,000Pike (?, ?), Smith (?), McCallum (?)
Sat Apr 11, 1891Glasgow RangersScotlandH3-0Win4,000Russell (?, ?, ?)
Sat Apr 18, 1891NottsEnglandH2-4Loss9,500Smith (?), Shaw (?)
Mon Apr 20, 1891EvertonEnglandA1-1Draw-? (?)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and after the season.
In (14) In (9)
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Adam ScottBoughtAlexander RowanSold
Alexander RowanBoughtFrank GuttridgeSold
Bill BrownBoughtJ DuncanSold
David RussellBoughtJack HollandSold
Fred ThompsonBoughtJoseph SouthwardSold
J DuncanBoughtMatthew RorkeSold
Matthew RorkeBoughtT RadfordSold
Neil McCallumBoughtTeddy MaySold
Percy OscroftBoughtWalter CoxRetired
Robertson (1891-92)Bought
Teddy MayBought
William 'Tich' SmithBought
Aug 01, 1890Alex HigginsBought
Sep 13, 1890Walter CoxBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
GKBill Brown211
GKJack Holland211
GKWalter Cox
DAdam Scott5221
DHarry Pike
DJoseph Southward
DMartin Earp5221
DRobertson (1891-92)
MAlbert Smith5221
MAlexander Rowan
MDavid Russell422
MFrank Guttridge
MFred Thompson
MJ Bullock
MMatthew Rorke
MNeil McCallum52212
MTommy Jeacock3111
FAlex Higgins522111
FArthur Shaw52212
FHorace Pike
FJ Duncan
FTeddy May3111
FTinsley Lindley52215
FWilliam 'Tich' Smith52213
FPercy Oscroft
Edward Anderson
G Shelton
T Radford
Tom Widdowson11


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
GoalsPlayerGames
11Alex Higgins5
5Tinsley Lindley5
3William 'Tich' Smith5
2Arthur Shaw5
2Neil McCallum5



LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season