Logo
Logo

SEASON: 1887-88

Prev Season: 1886-87
Next Season: 1888-89
DIVISION:
-

MANAGER(s):
-

FA Cup:
5th Round (The Wednesday (H) 2-4)

League Cup:
-


Top Goalscorer:
Tinsley Lindley (3 goals)

GAMES
Competitive Games:
5


League Games:

League Points:

Points Percentage:


GOALS
Competitive Goals:
14

Goals per game:
2.8

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored4 times1 time
Conceded2 times1 time
Won By2 times1 time1 time
Lost By1 time

ATTENDANCES
Highest League Attendance:
-

Lowest League Attendance:
-

Average League Attendance:
-


Highest Cup Attendance:
11,500 (FA Cup - Notts County)

Lowest Cup Attendance:
6,000 (FA Cup - Old Etonians)

MISC
Clean Sheets:
2

Red cards:
0

Yellow cards:
0



GAMES

FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Oct 15, 1887Notts Swifts1H2-1Win-Town Ground
Sat Nov 05, 1887Mellors2H2-0Win-Town Ground
Sat Nov 26, 1887Notts County3H2-1Win11,500Town Ground
Sat Dec 17, 1887Old Etonians4H6-0Win6,000Town Ground
Sat Jan 07, 1888The Wednesday5H2-4Loss8,000Town Ground


Birmingham Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Oct 29, 1887Stoke On TrentA1-2Loss-


Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Sep 17, 1887Preston North EndEnglandA2-5Loss4,000
Sat Sep 24, 1887Wednesbury Old AthleticEnglandH3-2Win1,200Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 01, 1887Long Eaton RangersEnglandH1-0Win1,500Gregory Ground
Thu Oct 06, 1887Sheffield WednesdayEnglandH2-1Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 08, 1887StokeEnglandH2-1Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 22, 1887Burslem Port ValeEnglandH1-1Draw-Gregory Ground
Sat Nov 12, 1887Lincoln CityEnglandA1-1Draw-John O'Gaunts
Thu Nov 17, 1887CorinthiansEnglandH2-1Win800
Sat Dec 03, 1887NottsEnglandH0-1Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Dec 10, 1887AccringtonEnglandH2-0Win800Gregory Ground
Mon Dec 26, 1887NottsEnglandA0-0Draw12,000
Tue Dec 27, 1887Bolton WanderersEnglandH3-2Win3,000Gregory Ground
Sat Jan 14, 1888Preston North EndEnglandH2-1Win-
Sat Jan 21, 1888Grimsby TownEnglandH2-0Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Jan 28, 1888Cambridge UniversityEnglandA1-5Loss-Clare College Ground
Sat Feb 04, 1888Lincoln CityEnglandH2-0Win-Gregory Ground
Tue Feb 14, 1888BurnleyEnglandH1-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Feb 18, 1888Cambridge UniversityEnglandH0-3Loss1,500Gregory Ground
Sat Mar 03, 1888Stoke On TrentEnglandA0-3Loss-
Sat Mar 10, 1888Aston UnityEnglandH4-3Win-Gregory Ground
Fri Mar 30, 1888BurnleyEnglandA1-3Loss-
Sat Mar 31, 1888Bolton WanderersEnglandA1-3Loss3,000
Mon Apr 02, 1888BootleEnglandA1-4Loss-
Sat Apr 21, 1888Burslem Port ValeEnglandA2-7Loss-



SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
GKFred Beardsley22
DCharles Caborn321
DFrank Williamson
DHarry Pike541
DHenry Billyeald11
DJames Luntley
DThomas Parr11
DW Mcleod
MArthur Pike11
MArthur Ward541
MFrank Guttridge
MGeorge Tutin2111
MJ Irons11
MOliver Tutin11
MThomas Danks332
FArthur Shaw
FFrank Burton3212
FFred Weightman
FFrederick Fox5412
FHarry Daft
FHorace Pike
FLawrence Plackett
FOliver Tolley
FR Warner11
FSam Widdowson11
FTeddy Leighton5412
FTinsley Lindley3213
FPike
A Elliott
A Marshall
Albert Moore
Alf Liddell
Arthur Leighton
George Whyatt
George Winfield
H Jackson
H Mills
H Mosley
J Paramore
P Miller
Salathiel Norman5412
T Radford
T Turner (1888)
Tom Widdowson22
W Keefe
WA Simkins
William Hancock541
Jackson


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
GoalsPlayerGames
3Tinsley Lindley3
2Frank Burton3
2Frederick Fox5
2Salathiel Norman5
2Teddy Leighton5
2Thomas Danks3
1George Tutin2



LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season