Logo
Logo

SEASON: 1888-89


Prev Season: 1887-88
Next Season: 1889-90
DIVISION:
-

MANAGER(s):

FA Cup:
2nd Round (Chatham (Kennington Oval) 2-3)

League Cup:
-


Top Goalscorer:
Tinsley Lindley (3 goals)


ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
4

Competitive Goals:
7

Goals per game:
1.8



LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:

League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)

Points Percentage:
%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored1 time3 times
Conceded1 time2 times1 time
Won By
Lost By1 time

ATTENDANCES
Highest League Attendance:
-

Lowest League Attendance:
-

Average League Attendance:
-

Highest Cup Attendance:
-

Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISC
Clean Sheets:
0

Red cards:
0

Yellow cards:
0



END OF SEASON TABLE
*GA = Goal Average
Click here for all tables for 1888-89...


GAMES

FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Feb 02, 1889Linfield AthleticH2-2Draw-Gregory GroundLinfield scratched
Sat Feb 16, 1889Chatham2A1-1Draw10,000Maidstone Road
Sat Feb 23, 1889Chatham2Y1H2-2Draw-Gregory Ground
Thu Feb 28, 1889Chatham2Y2N2-3Loss-Kennington Oval


Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Sep 08, 1888Sheffield WednesdayEnglandA2-2Draw-Olive Grove
Sat Sep 15, 1888Mitchell St. George'sEnglandA1-7Loss-Cape Hill
Sat Sep 22, 1888Warwick CountyEnglandH5-0Win400Gregory Ground
Sat Sep 29, 1888SheffieldEnglandH8-1Win-Gregory Ground
Thu Oct 04, 1888Aston VillaEnglandH1-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 06, 1888Long Eaton RangersEnglandH0-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 20, 1888Sheffield WednesdayEnglandH1-3Loss1,000Gregory Ground
Thu Oct 25, 1888Preston North EndEnglandH0-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Oct 27, 1888Mitchell St. George'sEnglandH1-0Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Nov 03, 1888Hereford UnitedEnglandA6-0Win-
Sat Nov 10, 1888ClaptonEnglandA2-2Draw-
Sat Nov 17, 1888Derby CountyEnglandA0-3Loss-
Sat Nov 24, 1888Blackburn OlympicEnglandH2-3Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Dec 01, 1888Notts CountyEnglandH3-0Win7,000Gregory Ground
Sat Dec 08, 1888Walsall Town SwiftsEnglandH1-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Dec 15, 1888Sheffield HeeleyEnglandH4-1Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Dec 22, 1888Derby JunctionEnglandH3-0Win-Gregory Ground
Wed Dec 26, 1888Notts CountyEnglandA1-4Loss10,000
Sat Dec 29, 1888CasualsEnglandH1-4Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Jan 05, 1889Derby JunctionEnglandA2-1Win-Arboretum
Sat Jan 12, 1889SheffieldEnglandA1-0Win-
Sat Jan 19, 1889Glasgow RangersScotlandH2-1Win-Gregory Ground
Sat Jan 26, 1889CorinthiansEnglandA1-2Loss-
Sat Feb 09, 1889Linfield AthleticNorthern IrelandH1-3Loss6,500Ulster Ground
Mon Mar 04, 1889StokeEnglandH1-2Loss-Gregory Ground
Sat Mar 09, 1889Newton HeathEnglandH2-2Draw-Gregory Ground
Sat Mar 16, 1889Small HeathEnglandA0-3Loss2,000
Sat Mar 23, 1889Newton HeathEnglandA1-3Loss2,000
Mon Mar 25, 1889Notts RangersEnglandH0-2Loss5,000Gregory Ground
Sat Apr 06, 1889ClaptonEnglandH3-2Win-Gregory Ground
Fri Apr 19, 1889Sunderland AlbionEnglandA0-5Loss1,000
Sat Apr 20, 1889Glasgow RangersScotlandA0-2Loss3,000Ibrox
Mon Apr 22, 1889BootleEnglandA0-5Loss-


Testimonial
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttGroundNotes
Sat Mar 30, 1889Notts CountyEnglandH2-5Loss5,000Gregory GroundTestimonial for Norman (Forest) and Emmett (Notts)



SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
GKBilly Moon
GKFred Beardsley431
DCharles Caborn
DFrank Williamson
DHarry Pike33
DHenry Billyeald
DJames Luntley
DJoseph Southward11
DValentine Stevenson321
DW Henson11
DW Mcleod
MAlbert Smith431
MArthur Pike11
MArthur Ward
MFrank Guttridge
MGeorge Tutin321
MJ Bullock
MMacJohn11
MOliver Tutin
MTommy Jeacock431
MC McAlpine
FAE Palmer
FArthur Shaw
FFrank Burton221
FFred Weightman
FFrederick Fox
FHarry Daft
FHorace Pike3211
FJohn McPherson
FOliver Tolley4311
FPike
FTeddy Leighton
FTinsley Lindley4313
FTutin11
FBob Jardine
A Hill
A Marshall
AH Smith
Barton
Ben Warburton
Bull
Chris Wardle
D Clarke
E Harker
F Barlow
H Jackson
HA Morley
J Tomlinson
James Gray
Jason McPherson
John Clements
McLean
Oakley (1888-89)
Percy Snook
Salathiel Norman2111
T Radford
Tom Widdowson
W Guyler
W Keefe
WA Simkins11
William Hancock22
J Young
JH Whyatt
Tommy Wilson (1888)


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
GoalsPlayerGames
3Tinsley Lindley4
1Frank Burton2
1Horace Pike3
1Oliver Tolley4
1Salathiel Norman2



LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season