Logo
Logo

SEASON: 1879-80


Prev Season: 1878-79
Next Season: 1880-81
DIVISION:
-

MANAGER(s):

FA Cup:
Semi Final (Oxford University (Kennington Oval) 0-1)

League Cup:
-


Top Goalscorer:
Sam Widdowson (7 goals)


ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
6

Competitive Goals:
18

Goals per game:
3.0



LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:

League Points:
out of 0 ( points per win)

Points Percentage:
%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored1 time1 time2 times
Conceded1 time1 time
Won By1 time2 times
Lost By1 time

ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
0

Lowest League Attendance:
0

Average League Attendance:
0

Highest Cup Attendance:
2,500

Lowest Cup Attendance:
2,000


MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
3

Red cards:
0

Yellow cards:
0

Penalties scored:
0

Penalties conceded:
0

Penalties missed:
0

Penalties saved:
0



GAMES

FA Cup
DateOpponentRoundReplayCountH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Nov 08, 1879Notts County1H4-0Win2,000Widdowson (?, ?), Smith (?, ?)
Sat Dec 13, 1879Turton2A6-0Win2,500Turner (?), Earp (?), Widdowson (?, ?), Smith (?, ?)
Sat Jan 31, 1880Blackburn Rovers3H6-0Win2,500Smith (?), Turner (?), Widdowson (?, ?), Goodyer (?, ?)
Thu Feb 19, 1880Sheffield United4H2-2Draw2,000Smith (?), Widdowson (?)
Mon Mar 01, 1880ByeQuarter---
Sat Mar 27, 1880Oxford UniversitySemiN0-1Loss2,000


Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Sep 27, 1879Nottinghamshire XIEnglandA6-0Win-Johnstone (?), Goodyer (?, ?, ?), Earp (?), Widdowson (?)
Sat Oct 04, 1879StokeEnglandH4-0Win-? (?, ?, ?, ?)
Sat Oct 18, 1879DarwenEnglandA3-1Win4,000Smith (?), ? (?, ?)
Sat Oct 25, 1879BirminghamEnglandH6-0Win-Goodyer (?), Widdowson (?, ?, 44), Smith (?, 28)
Sat Nov 01, 1879Edinburgh UniversityScotlandH6-1Win600Goodyer (?), Widdowson (?, ?, ?, ?), Smith (?)
Sat Dec 27, 1879Blackburn RoversEnglandH1-1Draw500Turner (?)
Sat Jan 10, 1880Wednesbury StrollersEnglandH4-0Win-Turner (?), Earp (?), Lindley (?), JJ Knowles (? OG)
Sat Jan 17, 1880Notts CountyEnglandH7-1Win1,000? (?), Earp (?, ?), Goodyer (?, ?, ?), Holroyd (?)
Sat Jan 24, 1880SheffieldEnglandH3-2Win800Smith (?), Widdowson (?, ?)
Sat Feb 07, 1880Sheffield WednesdayEnglandH2-0Win800Earp (?), Turner (?)
Tue Feb 10, 1880Scottish CanadianScotlandH0-2Loss5,500
Sat Feb 21, 1880Sheffield WednesdayEnglandA0-1Loss-
Sat Feb 28, 1880DarwenEnglandH5-0Win-Turner (?, ?), Smith (?, ?, ?)
Sat Mar 13, 1880StokeEnglandA1-3Loss2,000? (?)
Mon Mar 29, 1880Edinburgh UniversityScotlandA1-2Loss-Smith (89)
Tue Mar 30, 1880Blackburn RoversEnglandA1-5Loss2,000? (85)



SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
GKJohn Sands5311
DCharles Caborn5311
DErnest Jardine
DHenry Billyeald11
DJames Luntley11
MArthur Goodyer53112
MEdwin Luntley5311
MMark Holroyd5311
FSam Widdowson53117
FTeddy Earp53111
FWalter Luntley5311
AH Smith53116
Arthur Bates33
Christopher Lewis
Claude Hill
Ernest Greenhalgh
J Johnstone
John Turner4312
Leonard Lindley11
William Hancock


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
GoalsPlayerGames
7Sam Widdowson5
6AH Smith5
2Arthur Goodyer5
2John Turner4
1Teddy Earp5



LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season