SEASON: 1939-40


Prev Season: 1938-39
This Season: 1939-40
Next Season: 1940-41
DIVISION:
World War II
MANAGER(s):
Billy Walker
FA Cup:
Not started
League Cup:
Not started

Top Goalscorer:
Colin Perry (2 goals)


WHAT HAPPENED
The start of the Second World War caused the cancellation of the regular leagues after just three games. Clubs were assigned to regional leagues for the rest of the war; in the 1939-40 season, Forest were in the East Midlands League.
Many of the players during the war were just guests (even from other clubs) so the squad size is a lot larger and many of these players only made appearances for us during the war.

Click here for all tables for 1939-40
GAME COUNTS
ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
3
Competitive Goals:
5
Goals per game:
1.7

LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
%

GOALS
Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored1 time2 times
Conceded1 time1 time
Won By1 time1 time
Lost By1 time

LEAGUE POSITION ANALYSIS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)
Not included: Week 1 game against Barnsley (1-4) as all teams were unplaced at the time

ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
12,450 (Newcastle United)
Lowest League Attendance:
9,521 (Newport County)
Average League Attendance:
10,985
Highest Cup Attendance:
-
Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
1
Yellow cards:
0
Red cards:
0
Own goals (for):
(scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
(scored by us for opponents)
Penalties scored:
1
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
1
Penalties saved:
0


GAMES
 
Manager for all games: Billy Walker
League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
1Sat Aug 26, 1939BarnsleyA1-4Loss11,53519Perry (80)
2Thu Aug 31, 1939Newcastle UnitedH2-0Win12,45015McCall (? pen), Perry (?)
3Sat Sep 02, 1939Newport CountyH2-1Win9,5218Surtees (28), Maund (65)

WWII Main League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Oct 21, 1939Sheffield UnitedA0-3Loss-
Sat Oct 28, 1939Doncaster RoversH1-1Draw3,000Drury (?)
Sat Nov 11, 1939Mansfield TownH6-2Win3,676Drury (?, ?, ?), Hinchliffe (?), McCall (?), Graham (?)
Sat Nov 25, 1939Lincoln CityH0-1Loss1,500
Sat Dec 02, 1939Rotherham UnitedA0-1Loss-
Sat Dec 09, 1939Sheffield WednesdayH1-1Draw3,116Drury (?)
Sat Jan 06, 1940ChesterfieldH2-2Draw1,417Drury (?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Feb 24, 1940Doncaster RoversA2-3Loss-Drury (?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Mar 02, 1940Notts CountyA3-4Loss-Drury (?, ?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Mar 09, 1940Mansfield TownA0-2Loss3,000
Fri Mar 22, 1940BarnsleyA0-3Loss-
Sat Mar 23, 1940Lincoln CityA0-1Loss5,000
Mon Mar 25, 1940BarnsleyH1-0Win5,000Hunter (?)
Tue Mar 26, 1940Sheffield UnitedH4-1Win2,581Starling (?), Drury (?, ?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Mar 30, 1940Rotherham UnitedH4-1Win3,000Hinchliffe (?), Drury (?, ?, ?)
Sat Apr 06, 1940Sheffield WednesdayA1-2Loss3,000Starling (?)
Mon May 13, 1940Grimsby TownH1-1Draw2,258Drury (?)
Sat May 25, 1940Notts CountyH6-2Win1,771Peacock (?, ?), Drury (?, ?), Starling (?), Roulston (?)
Wed May 29, 1940ChesterfieldA1-6Loss-McKenzie (?)
Sat Jun 08, 1940Grimsby TownA3-4Loss-Peacock (?, ?), Walker (?)

WWII Wartime Cup
WeekDateOpponentRoundLegH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Apr 20, 1940Charlton Athletic11H1-0Win-Armstrong (89)
Sat Apr 27, 1940Charlton Athletic12A3-1Win-Crisp (?), Armstrong (?), Drury (?)
Sat May 04, 1940Southend United21H3-1Win-Broome (?), Crisp (?), Starling (?)
Sat May 11, 1940Southend United22A1-0Win-McCall (?)
Sat May 18, 1940Fulham3A0-2Loss-

Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Sat Aug 19, 1939Notts CountyEnglandA1-1Draw-Fryer (?)
Sat Sep 16, 1939Peterborough UnitedEnglandA3-4Loss3,000Fryer (?), McCall (?, ?)
Sat Sep 23, 1939Grimsby TownEnglandH1-2Loss5,000Munro (? pen)
Sat Sep 30, 1939Lincoln CityEnglandA6-0Win-Thomas (?, ?), McCall (?, ?), Drury (?), Mills (?)
Sat Oct 07, 1939Sheffield WednesdayEnglandH1-2Loss-McCall (?)
Sat Oct 14, 1939Notts CountyEnglandH2-1Win-Hinchliffe (?), Lager (?)
Sat Nov 04, 1939ChelmsfordEnglandA4-1Win-McCall (?, ?), Drury (?, ?)
Sat Nov 18, 1939Bristol CityEnglandA9-3Win-Hinchliffe (?, ?, ?), McCall (?, ?), Hunter (?), Drury (?), Maund (?), Walker (?)
Sat Dec 16, 1939Stockport CountyEnglandH6-0Win-Beaumont (?, ?, ?), Drury (?, ?), Walker (?)
Tue Dec 26, 1939Leicester CityEnglandH3-1Win-McCall (?), Drury (?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Dec 30, 1939Port ValeEnglandA3-1Win-Hinchliffe (?, ?), Drury (?)
Sat Jan 13, 1940Birmingham International XIEnglandH0-1Loss-
Sat Mar 16, 1940Army XIEnglandH3-0Win-Peacock (?), Drury (?), Hinchliffe (?)
Sat Apr 13, 1940Stoke CityEnglandH2-3Loss-Trim (?), Drury (?)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (17) - £0 Out (6) - £0
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Andy McCallBoughtAndy McCallSold
Bill CorkhillBoughtBoy MartinSold
Charles (1940)BoughtCharles (1940)Sold
Cutts (1940)BoughtCutts (1940)Sold
Doug WestlandBoughtJohn MunroSold
EF SmithBoughtTom BrawleySold
Frank KnightBought
Fred MoonBought
George AntonioBought
James HunterBought
Ken RawsonBought
Reg BrookBought
Tom BrawleyBought
Tom HinchliffeBought
May 19, 1939Colin PerryBought
May 19, 1939John MaundBought
Jul 22, 1939George CrispBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num Country PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GKAshley Hunt
GKCutts (1940)
GK ScotlandDoug Westland
GK EnglandPercy Ashton321
Defenders
D EnglandBernard Brierley
DCharles (1940)
DFred Stanley (1938-43))
D ScotlandGeorge Cummings
D EnglandJack Challinor
D ScotlandJohn Munro321
DReg Brook
D EnglandReg Trim321
DTom Brawley
D EnglandTommy Graham11
Midfielders
MA Hydes
M ScotlandAlex Massie
M ScotlandAndy McCall3211
M N. IrelandBill Corkhill
M EnglandBob McCall321
MC Roulston
M EnglandColin Perry3212
M EnglandEddie Barks
M EnglandEllis Lager
M EnglandFrank Broome
M EnglandFrank Knight
M EnglandFreddie Haycock
M EnglandGeorge Pritty321
MJames Hunter
M ScotlandJock Kirton
M EnglandJohn Maund3211
MP McKenzie
M EnglandPaddy Mills
M WalesRobert Davies22
M EnglandTed Blagg
M WalesThomas Clark321
M EnglandWilliam Baxter
M EnglandKen Rawson
Forwards
F EnglandBilly Walker
F EnglandEric Houghton
F EnglandFred Moon
FGeoff Richardson
F EnglandGeorge Antonio
F WalesGeorge Crisp
F EnglandGeorge Drury
F EnglandJack Fryer
F EnglandJack Surtees3211
F EnglandLen Beaumont
F ScotlandMatt Armstrong
F EnglandRonnie Starling
F EnglandThomas Peacock
F EnglandTom Hinchliffe
F EnglandJackie Martin
A Nixon
Beardall
McStay
Roberts (1939)
Sid Gladwin
Thomas (1939)
Smith


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames
2Colin Perry3
1 (1)Andy McCall3
1Jack Surtees3
1John Maund3


LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score