SEASON: 1944-45


Prev Season: 1943-44
This Season: 1944-45
Next Season: 1945-46
DIVISION:
World War II
MANAGER(s):
FA Cup:
-
League Cup:
-

Top Goalscorer:


WHAT HAPPENED
Due to the Second World War, three initial leagues were in place this year.
A London league ran for 30 games, while separate West and Northern divisions ran until Christmas. These two separate leagues were combined for a full league for the rest of the season.
Also competed for was a Wartime Cup to replace the FA Cup. The first 10 Combined League games were also qualifying games for the cup, with the top 32 qualifying for the knockout rounds. Forest finished 37th and failed to qualify.

ALL GAMES
Competitive Games:
0
Competitive Goals:
0
Goals per game:


LEAGUE GAMES
League Games:
League Points:
out of 0 (2 points per win)
Points Percentage:
%

Goals scored, conceded and win and loss margins
Goal count:1 goal2 goals3 goals4 goals5+ goals
Scored
Conceded
Won By
Lost By

SEASON LEAGUE POSITIONS
Analysis of the league positions
This table shows:
(a) how many days we spent in each of the league positions
(b) how we did when we played teams in each of the league positions.

Position days Record against teams in each position
Forest
Pos
Num Days Opp
Pos
PWDLFAPointsResults (Green=win; Blue=draw; Red=loss)


ATTENDANCES (HOME)
Highest League Attendance:
-
Lowest League Attendance:
-
Average League Attendance:
-
Highest Cup Attendance:
-
Lowest Cup Attendance:
-

MISCELLANEOUS
Clean Sheets:
0
Yellow cards:
0
Red cards:
0
Own goals (for):
(scored by opponents for us)
Own goals (against):
(scored by us for opponents)
Penalties scored:
0
Penalties conceded:
0
Penalties missed:
0
Penalties saved:
0


Click here for all tables for 1944-45

GAMES
 
Manager for all games: Billy Walker
WWII Main League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Aug 26, 1944Derby CountyH0-0Draw13,294
Sat Sep 02, 1944Derby CountyA0-5Loss9,936
Sat Sep 09, 1944Sheffield UnitedA0-2Loss7,909
Sat Sep 16, 1944Sheffield UnitedH2-2Draw7,904Inskip (?), Baxter (?)
Sat Sep 23, 1944Notts CountyH2-1Win9,536Beaumont (?), Beswick (?)
Sat Sep 30, 1944Notts CountyA-Draw-
Sat Oct 07, 1944ChesterfieldA1-0Win-Dulson (?)
Sat Oct 14, 1944ChesterfieldH2-1Win6,876Johnson (?, ?)
Sat Oct 21, 1944Mansfield TownH2-5Loss7,626Dulson (?, ?)
Sat Oct 28, 1944Mansfield TownA2-4Loss7,000Beaumont (?), Johnson (?)
Sat Nov 04, 1944Rotherham UnitedA2-1Win-Dulson (?), Inskip (?)
Sat Nov 11, 1944Rotherham UnitedH1-2Loss5,316Johnson (?)
Sat Nov 18, 1944Lincoln CityH2-2Draw-Rawson (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Nov 25, 1944Lincoln CityA2-2Draw-Wheatley (?), Beaumont (?)
Sat Dec 02, 1944Sheffield WednesdayA1-2Loss6,000Johnson (?)
Sat Dec 09, 1944Sheffield WednesdayH1-0Win5,893Wheatley (?)
Sat Dec 16, 1944Grimsby TownA1-3Loss2,000Peace (?)
Sat Dec 23, 1944Grimsby TownH1-2Loss5,874Davies (?)

WWII Combined League
WeekDateOpponentH/AScoreResultAttPosScorers
Sat Dec 30, 1944Leicester CityH0-0Draw6,788
Sat Jan 06, 1945Derby CountyH1-1Draw18,790Johnson (?)
Sat Jan 13, 1945Derby CountyA0-3Loss12,715
Sat Feb 03, 1945ChesterfieldA1-0Win4,620Stevenson (?)
Sat Feb 10, 1945ChesterfieldH1-1Draw7,298Davies (?)
Sat Feb 17, 1945Notts CountyH1-4Loss7,520North (?)
Sat Feb 24, 1945Notts CountyA2-1Win10,000North (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Mar 03, 1945Leicester CityA1-1Draw-Johnson (?)
Sat Mar 10, 1945Mansfield TownH2-1Win10,400Barks (?), Elliott (? pen)
Sat Mar 17, 1945Mansfield TownA0-1Loss7,874
Mon Apr 02, 1945Notts CountyH6-0Win6,920Blenkinsop (?, ?, ?), Martin (?), Simpson (?), Johnson (?)
Sat Apr 07, 1945Coventry CityH1-1Draw6,000Simpson (?)
Sat Apr 14, 1945Coventry CityA1-1Draw3,188Johnson (?)
Thu Apr 19, 1945Birmingham CityA1-4Loss3,000Betts (?)
Sat Apr 21, 1945Notts CountyA3-1Win4,000Leverton (?, ?), Mee (?)
Sat Apr 28, 1945Notts CountyH2-5Loss3,407Elliott (? pen, ? pen)
Sat May 26, 1945Birmingham CityH0-0Draw2,900

Friendly
DateOpponentCountryH/AScoreResultAttScorers
Wed May 09, 1945Derby CountyEnglandA2-2Draw-Leverton (?, ?)



TRANSFERS
Transfers before, during and immediately after the season.
In (16) Out (14)
Date Player Details Fee Date Player Details Fee
Bert WilliamsBoughtBert WilliamsSold
Billy LinacreBoughtBilly LinacreSold
Colin RawsonBoughtCunningham (1945)Sold
Cunningham (1945)BoughtEF SmithSold
F PayneBought1939Frank HindleySold
Fred InskipBoughtFred InskipSold
1944Frederick MartinBoughtGeorge CrispSold
Gordon KaileBoughtJ BeswickSold
JW FirthBoughtJW FirthSold
Peter TaylorBoughtLen BeaumontSold
Ray PaulBoughtR TownsendSold
Roland 'Tot' LevertonBoughtStanley FlewittSold
Tom JohnsonBoughtW GoughSold
Tom NorthBoughtJul 01, 1945Peter TaylorSold
W GoughBought
William MorleyBought


SQUAD
Season Record (Competitive Games only)
Pos Num PlayerP W D L Goals Yellows Reds Went Off Came On Unused Sub Notes
Goalkeepers
GKBert Williams
GKCunningham (1945)
GKF Payne
GKLaurie Platts
GKNorman Wilkinson
GKPeter Taylor
GKW Styles
GKWright (1945)
Defenders
DEdward Blagg
DGeoff Thomas (1944-60)
DJack Hutchinson
DJW Firth
DRon Guttridge
DRonnie Hepworth
DS Griffin
DSam Godfrey
Midfielders
MBilly Linacre
MBob McCall
MBryn Elliott
MDenny Foreman
MEddie Barks
MErnest Morris
MFrank Hindley
MGordon Brown
MHorace Stevenson
MJ Beswick
MJames Cronkshaw
MJohn Maund
MKen Powell
ML Thorpe
MLloyd Iceton
MR Oxley
MRay Paul
MRobert Davies
MRon Peace
MTanner Allen
MTom Blenkinsop
MTom Waring
MVictor Walker
MWilliam Baxter
Forwards
FColin Rawson
FEF Smith
FEric Betts
FFrank Johnson
FFred Inskip
FFrederick Martin
FGeorge Crisp
FGeorge Drury
FGeorge Mee
FGordon Kaile
FIan McPherson
FJack Edwards
FLaurie Coen
FLen Beaumont
FNoel Simpson
FR Townsend
FRalph Dulson
FRoland 'Tot' Leverton
FRoland Wheatley
FStanley Flewitt
FTom Johnson
FTom North
FW Gough
FWilliam Morley


GOALSCORERS


Competitive goals only
Goals (Pens)PlayerGames


LEAGUE DOUBLES
Home and away victories for the season
Game 1 Game 2
Opponent Date H/A Score Date H/A Score