THE 6 HOME GAMES PLAYED AT MEADOW LANE IN 1968


Following a fire at the City Ground during the game against Leeds United on Saturday August 24, 1968, the next six home games were played over the Trent at Meadow Lane.

We drew 3 of these games and lost the other 3, meaning we did not win a single game while across the river, however we also hadn't won any of the four games so far in the season (including 2 home draws), and failed to beat Arsenal and Liverpool in our next two home games back at the City Ground.

Here are the games surrounding the fire.

The first 5 games of the season:
Date Game Opponent H/A Score Result Ground
Sat Aug 10, 1968League Tier 1BurnleyH2-2DrawCity Ground
Wed Aug 14, 1968League Tier 1ChelseaA1-1DrawStamford Bridge
Sat Aug 17, 1968League Tier 1West Ham UnitedA0-1LossUpton Park
Tue Aug 20, 1968League Tier 1Sheffield WednesdayH0-0DrawCity Ground
Sat Aug 24, 1968League Tier 1Leeds UnitedH1-1AbaCity Ground

The 6 home games played at Meadow Lane:
Date Game Opponent H/A Score Result Ground
Tue Sep 03, 1968League CupWest Bromwich AlbionH2-3LossMeadow Lane
Sat Sep 14, 1968League Tier 1Coventry CityH0-0DrawMeadow Lane
Sat Oct 05, 1968League Tier 1Stoke CityH3-3DrawMeadow Lane
Tue Oct 08, 1968League Tier 1Newcastle UnitedH2-4LossMeadow Lane
Sat Oct 19, 1968League Tier 1Ipswich TownH1-2LossMeadow Lane
Sat Nov 02, 1968League Tier 1Wolverhampton WanderersH0-0DrawMeadow Lane

The next 3 home games:
Date Game Opponent H/A Score Result Ground
Sat Nov 16, 1968League Tier 1ArsenalH0-2LossCity Ground
Sat Nov 30, 1968League Tier 1LiverpoolH0-1LossCity Ground
Sat Dec 14, 1968League Tier 1SunderlandH1-0WinCity Ground