Brian Clough Trophy

Since the start of the 2007-08 season, all games between Forest and Derby County have been competed for the Brian Clough Trophy.

The trophy only changes hands on a win; in the case of a draw then it's retained by the current holder, and in the 15 years of the trophy, Derby have had by far the biggest success, holding the trophy for almost twice as long as we have.

We lost that first game (a friendly) 2-0 and then Derby won or drew the next four meetings to hold onto the trophy for the first 2 years. We finally got our hands on the cup but only for one game, and the 11 months that we held it is still the shortest period that anyone has held the title.
Shortly after that Derby went on another 4-game streak to hold for it another two years and then went on a 6-game defence that lasted 3 years, 3 months and 7 days, which is the longest time period it's been held.
Until right now that is.
Because on June 2nd 2022, we will have held the trophy for 3 years, 3 months and 8 days. Good times.

Summary of results

Team Total Trophy
Wins
Trophy
Retained
Total Days Held Total Time Held Percentage
Forest145920805 years, 8 months, 11 days39.3%
Derby1851332098 years, 9 months, 14 days60.7%

Misc stats
Longest time held:
3 Years, 3 Months, 7 Days (Derby County)

Shortest time held:
0 Years, 11 Months, 13 Days (Nottingham Forest)

All results

Date Game H/A Score Ground Holders Days Held Time Held
Tue Jul 31, 2007Pre-Season FriendlyA0-2Pride ParkDerby Won460
Sun Nov 02, 2008League Tier 2A1-1Pride ParkDerby (Retained)82
Fri Jan 23, 2009FA CupA1-1Pride ParkDerby (Retained)12
Wed Feb 04, 2009FA CupH2-3City GroundDerby (Retained)17
Sat Feb 21, 2009League Tier 2H1-3City GroundDerby (Retained)1892 Years, 1 Months, 10 Days
Sat Aug 29, 2009League Tier 2H3-2City GroundForest Won1540 Years, 11 Months, 13 Days
Sat Jan 30, 2010League Tier 2A0-1Pride ParkDerby Won3331 Years, 4 Months, 7 Days
Wed Dec 29, 2010League Tier 2H5-2City GroundForest Won24
Sat Jan 22, 2011League Tier 2A1-0Pride ParkForest (Retained)2381 Years, 8 Months, 25 Days
Sat Sep 17, 2011League Tier 2H1-2City GroundDerby Won178
Tue Mar 13, 2012League Tier 2A0-1Pride ParkDerby (Retained)201
Sun Sep 30, 2012League Tier 2H0-1City GroundDerby (Retained)111
Sat Jan 19, 2013League Tier 2A1-1Pride ParkDerby (Retained)2522 Years, 8 Months, 20 Days
Sat Sep 28, 2013League Tier 2H1-0City GroundForest Won1751 Years, 2 Months, 7 Days
Sat Mar 22, 2014League Tier 2A0-5Pride ParkDerby Won176
Sun Sep 14, 2014League Tier 2H1-1City GroundDerby (Retained)1251 Years, 4 Months, 26 Days
Sat Jan 17, 2015League Tier 2A2-1Pride ParkForest Won293
Fri Nov 06, 2015League Tier 2H1-0City GroundForest (Retained)1341 Years, 6 Months, 12 Days
Sat Mar 19, 2016League Tier 2A0-1iPro StadiumDerby Won267
Sun Dec 11, 2016League Tier 2A0-3iPro StadiumDerby (Retained)97
Sat Mar 18, 2017League Tier 2H2-2City GroundDerby (Retained)211
Sun Oct 15, 2017League Tier 2A0-2Pride ParkDerby (Retained)147
Sun Mar 11, 2018League Tier 2H0-0City GroundDerby (Retained)281
Mon Dec 17, 2018League Tier 2A0-0Pride ParkDerby (Retained)703 Years, 3 Months, 7 Days
Mon Feb 25, 2019League Tier 2H1-0City GroundForest Won183
Tue Aug 27, 2019League CupH3-0City GroundForest (Retained)74
Sat Nov 09, 2019League Tier 2H1-0City GroundForest (Retained)238
Sat Jul 04, 2020League Tier 2A1-1Pride ParkForest (Retained)111
Fri Oct 23, 2020League Tier 2H1-1City GroundForest (Retained)126
Fri Feb 26, 2021League Tier 2A1-1Pride ParkForest (Retained)183
Sat Aug 28, 2021League Tier 2A1-1Pride ParkForest (Retained)147
Sat Jan 22, 2022League Tier 2H2-1City GroundForest (Retained)1553 years, 4 months, 1 day